JR Media Services Skips out on Provider, Refuses to Pay

JR Media Services are one of those companies who believe they are above the law. Relying on providers to deliver quality entertainment transcription and closed caption, they take all the credit (and cash!) and walk away leaving the provider empty-handed (and open-mouthed).

How can a medium sized, well known company such as JR Media Services do this? How can JR Media Services take the work from the provider, submit it to their client and get paid, all without even batting an eyelash to the provider who did all the work?

How can JR Media Services, with big Hollywood studios as their clients, have unpaid invoices dating as far back as July 2009. Unbelievable. What’s more unsettling is the fact that JR Media Services’ CEO, Max Beno, has completely washed his hands, refusing to pay the provider the $23,507.96 owed to them.

Now THAT’S INCREDIBLE!

All I can do is warn any company who wants to provide services or goods to JR Media Services. JR Media Services will not pay you. They will get your goods and/or services and leave you holding the bill. And don’t hold your breath either honey cause you aren’t getting paid by JR Media Services. The ‘JR’ in JR Media Services stands for JUST RUNAWAY.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to JR Media Services Skips out on Provider, Refuses to Pay

  1. Ryan says:

    Add me to the list of providers who are having serious problems with JR Media Services. There appear to be a few companies with this name; I’m referring to the JR Media Services located in Burbank, CA. Their slogan, “Delivering the Bottom Line since 1979,” is deeply ironic, to say the least. They are refusing to pay numerous invoices I submitted months ago. Some are now over three months late and there is still no sign of any payment, despite many promises from Max Beno and Lidia Gimenez. You’re owed much more than I am, but they still owe me a substantial amount: nearly $6,000.

    I would strongly caution all service providers and contractors to stay away from JR Media Services. The only time I ever received a payment from them was when they had another project with a tight deadline in their queue. The invoice was over two months late until the new project came along and I refused to work on it until I was paid for the previous one. Then, miraculously, they found a way to pay me within a couple of days.

    Feel free to get in touch with me via email if you’d like to discuss or compare our situations. Maybe we can help each other.

    • Ryan says:

      Just wanted to post an update to my comment from last year. After filing a lawsuit and receiving a judgment against JR Media Services in my state, I managed to work out a payment agreement with them. It took a little while, but I have now been paid the amount that I was owed in full. It does seem that their communications with and payments to translators have improved in the past year, at least in my experience.

  2. Yup that’s the one. Hopefully soon karma will get them and I’m hoping paybacks’ a bitch. I did these blogs hoping that they would get picked up if someone did a Google search on JR. Unfortunately it isn’t getting picked up in the searches. I did this blog primarily to warn other service providers not to do any work for them. I emailed you btw.

  3. Virginia Fox says:

    Thank you very much for your blog and warnings. Unfortunately, it is too late for me. I did not find it when I did a Google search on them last December. They owe me about $3,000 for a rush translation job I did for them then and the scenario is just like what you both describe.

    They do not answer my emails and phone calls. I will start legal action against them since that is the only way to deal with unprofessional people!

    I found your blog by doing a search on Lidia Gimenez at JR Media Services (which are words picked up in the above Comment). Maybe, if you changed the name of your blog from “UnpaidandPissed” to “JR Media Services Bad Payment History” it would get picked up by the Google Search engine. Max Beno from JR Media Services was the person who contracted the translation from me. We need to alert all our colleagues to this very unprofessional outfit!

    Thank you for sharing.

  4. daisy says:

    Thanks for the blog. We did a search and happened onto it.

Leave a Reply

